PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob Scrapper

dreeg
11-02-2012, 06:19 PM
Hi everyone. I am a 40 year old married mother of two and live on the gulf coast. I have a 21 year old son and a 1 year old daughter. We have 2 dogs. One is a doxie and the other is a mix that we rescued from the pound. My brother recently rescued a pregnant stray cat. She had 3 kittens but only 2 survived. My brother works out of town so "his" cats - momma and babies - stay/live with me.

About 5 years ago my mother passed away. It was sudden and very unexpected. She was still young as she had me when she was a teen. Anyways, I was in a very hurt/saddened/depressed place. I started going through photos. Then I scanned every photo I had in case something happened to them which led me to making photo books. I made tons of photo books with all of my photos using Shutterfly. Except I never made one with my mom's pictures nor my own. I only used photos of myself when I made books for my son - me holding him, etc and one for my husband that I called young love. We started dating as teens.

One of my hobbies for the last 15 years or so is entering contests. I've won some great stuff from some excellent sponsors. I happened to win MyMemories from a blog which led me to digital scrapping. I've just recently downloaded the free trial of PSE 11.

I bought a kit (from somewhere else) and made a photo book for my grandma. It was of her family when she was growing up. I used quick pages and made a few pages myself. She loved the book!