PDA

View Full Version : What to do?


Nancy
08-25-2007, 05:54 PM
Hello everyone. I'm another new "newbee". :( I downloaded a kit and quick LO. Thank you very much, I was very appreciative, not to mention just loved them. My questions are: With the kits, if there is a sheet of embellishments (like 4 bows). I would like to choose one. How do I snatch just one bow. Second question: With the quick LO (or ploppers) after I plop a photo, when there are embellishments around the frame, the photo goes over the embellishments. Is there a way to "lift" that embellishment back over the photo. I'm working with Ditigal Image Pro 7 and learning Adobe PE 5
I'm so anxious to begin uploading some LO. I suppose that will require another question or two. Hope someone out there is able to help. Thanks in advance.

Nancy

nighty
08-25-2007, 07:02 PM
hi nancy,

welcome here!

and now to your question
cannot answer the first part, because i don't know how the tool is called in english,
but if you want to use a quickpage,
put your picture on it and then look at the layers-menue,
leftclick on the layer with your picture hold the mousebutton
and then pull it down under the first layer
that's all.
if you cannot understand what i try to explain just tell me
and i will make some screenshots for you

janalyn
08-25-2007, 10:04 PM
Hi Nancy and welcome to SAS!

Nighty answered the question about the QP - just make sure your photo is on a layer of its own and not on the same layer as the QP and the photo layer needs to be below the QP layer. I don't know Ditigal Image Pro 7 but this is how you do it in PSE5

To select just one element you need to use the Magic Wand tool. You will need to play with the tolerance until it selects just the element that you need from the page. Usually continuous is on but not always. Again, just play with it until you can select just what you want. Double check by zooming in that you actually have everything selected. Now you just copy the selection - I use Ctrl+c and then click on the layout where you want the element and paste Ctrl+v. It will be on its own layer and you can move it where you want it with the move tool (v). Hope I didn't leave out any steps. :o

Good luck and be sure to let us know how it works out!!

Nancy
08-29-2007, 12:24 PM
Hello
I know it's been a few days, however it's been that long and I still can't seem to do it. It's only shear determination that makes me right to you again. Somehow I forgetting some little step, and it must be little, 'cause you make it sound so easy. :-) Over in the Layers we have Layer 0 (with an eye) on top, with the plopper. Then we have a layer with photo on the bottom (no eye), don't even know how the eye dot there! I do know what it means. Both the plopper and the photo are in the bin. I put the plopper on the workbench, then I try to left click on the photo in the layers and it wouldn't go. I get a zero with a line throught it. I can get the photo from the bin and put in on the plopper, but can't get the photo under it. Can you help me? or am I a lost cause. I will understand if you can't, but would appreciate it if you would.

Nancy

nighty
08-29-2007, 01:02 PM
i try do make you some screenshots,
but it can take a little time
and i have the german version
so the tools and things have different names
and you should play a little bit with your programm to find out how it works
just click on the eye and others signs and see what will happen

janalyn
08-29-2007, 01:14 PM
Hello
Over in the Layers we have Layer 0 (with an eye) on top, with the plopper. Then we have a layer with photo on the bottom (no eye),
Nancy

I don't have PSE5 but it seems to me if the eye is not on then the photo wouldn't show. Just click the little box and the eye will appear and you should have a plopper with a photo under it! At least I hope!! :D

nighty
08-29-2007, 01:23 PM
i found something better for you
than making screenshots from a german version
look here (http://mistycatodesigns.blogspot.com/2007/05/creating-your-first-page-in-pse.html) she made a tutorial
for using quickpages.
look around on her blog
there are much more good tutorials for beginners

Pillowgirl
08-29-2007, 01:24 PM
I know it is a silly question but...Does the quickpage have a transparent spot for you to slide the photo behind? Sometimes QP Designers use a photo mat instead of a hole too.

Kyda
08-29-2007, 02:29 PM
Nancy, on the picking out elements question, there's also another way, not using the magic wand. I never even thought of that, but it is a good idea! :) If you have any problems using the magic wand you can also just select it using the selection tool (the rectangle or oval) as long as you have some blank space between the elements. then just copy and paste. Hope your having some luck with your quick page. :)

Nancy
08-30-2007, 01:18 PM
Thanks you so much. That was a wonderful site. I should be able to do it now. Funny, I can do a LO in no time, yet doing this plopper has me stumpted. Thanks again.

Nancy
08-30-2007, 01:27 PM
Hi there
No its not a hole. It's filled in. Thanks

nighty
08-30-2007, 02:05 PM
if you got more questions
just ask us,
if we can we will help you ;)

olga9999
09-03-2007, 07:23 AM
Hi there
No its not a hole. It's filled in. Thanks
If there is no hole in the plopper, the QP is prepared for the photo to go on top of it and not under it. Just put your photo on top and adjust it and move until you are happy with the result. That should do it.

I hope this helps :)