PDA

View Full Version : Q& A Round 2 - questions here please!!


Ambowife Designs
09-11-2009, 04:35 PM
Round 2 Q & A

Q. Can we have wordart? A. You may have word art, but it is not a requirement. Up to you what elements you choose to have.
Q.And would it be OK to create 8 unique papers and 12 unique elements? A.Absolutely! I personally love unique vs. same-same in different colors
Q. Do I have to name my Kit "Best Friends"?

A. No as long as the theme is Best friends you can name it what you like.


Q. Can I use Black and White?A. Yes, if you add them to your paletteQ.do we still have the 40MB file size when we are done? A.As long as you stick to the quantity requirements you can have any mb size you want as long as each zip file doesn't exceed 40mb.
Q.Can we use Metals? A.Good question! You may use metals... since you are developing the palette, include a metal in your palette that covers all our bases.
Q. . . . but what is a jpeg artifact? A. Here you go, read this http://www.scantips.com/basics9jb.html
Q.So would my little orange snowman nose have disqualified me? (color not in palette) A. yes, in the interest of fairness and keeping with the rules.
Q.do you want us to list if we created our own layer styles? A.I don't think you need to list layer style, perse. If the element template came from Billy Joe Bob, that's enough. I don't need to know the texture is from Julie Sue, the shadow from Alex's Actions, etc. You get the idea.
But if it's a whole element yes if it's just an edge or something minor like that then no
Q. How do I make a close Up? A. An easy way to make a closeup:

Flatten your preview
Open a new file - 600 x 600
Drag the flattened preview over to the 600 x 600 file
Position nicely to show off your 'best' features

Q.so we need to go back and edit our round one kit? A. Not required but it would be good design experience, but No Not a requirement
Q.Does our design name, etc need to be on the close-up? A.It's always a good idea to put the kit name and design name on anything that you make in previews, afterall it is to promote the kit.
Q.What about being off the palette in our add on kits on our blogs? A.No what you put on your blog as extras is totally up to you and it's not part of the competition
Q.Do you want this tou to be specific to each item A. the rule is the same as in round one,List all CU resources used, you do not have to detail it per item., something like

programs used : pscs4, artrage,
plug ins: eye candy

Credits:
Monica Larsen - bow action
Amanda Rockwell - overlays
Skrapper Digitals - Layer styles

That kind of thing.
Not a huge list of what you may or may not have used. We want to be able to see what is you and what is someone else. And we want to be able to track copyright issues etc. If you used type of any kind you should also add that to you tou so we will know it was permissable to use commercially.
Q.what if I use a real flower and it has a little yellow in the middle, and yellow is not in my palette, is that disqualification? A.if, for example, you have a yellow centre in a flower somewhere add that color to the palette, there is no limit to how many colors you have as long as there are at least 3 , if you want to use metal or wood add it to the palette, (by making a square of metal or wood with your style that you will be using.


Q.When using a CU item, as long as the designer who made the CU product does not put in her TOU that you can not use it for freebies it is ok to do so, correct?

A. It is ok to do so, but I normally wouldn't give away an item I bought CU if all I'd done is recolor it

Q.I have a question about the elements. If I kreate two frames that are completely different from each other, is that considered two or one element?

A.It's two elements .Just like if you have two flowers, one rose & one carnation, it's two different elements even though you have two flowers.

Q.I am pretty sure i know the answere, but to be sure:
Alpha will count as 1 element???

A.Yes

Q.If I use a lighter or darker version of a color that is on my palette, do I also have to include those on the palette, or just the "main" color?

A.The main color will be good, lighter and darker shades naturally occur when you use overlays and shading etc
Q.I was creating elements last night and ended up with a glitter effect via layer properties. do i need to add those colors some how to my palette?

A.I think no, as long as the main color of the glitter is in the palette.


Q.Do they all have to be png or can they be a jpeg if they cover the full file?
Saw like a solid paper journal box?

A.If the element is a journal paper and fills the whole document then yes it can be a jpeg, as long as all your files are either png or jpeg you should be fine
Q.1 element 3 colors= 1 element right? so if i had 12 elements, but had 2 or 3 colors of that element..that's still 12? or would that be considered more?


A.12 elements only - whether recolored or not - 8 of them are to be unique (different) so if you want to recolor any you only have three left - no more than 12 altogether :)



All questions and answers posted in this thread will be added to this top post for easier reference :)

For other Q & A regarding general rules like resolution stray pixels etc, see round one's Q&A thread

Flower Scraps
09-11-2009, 11:25 PM
THANK YOU TRACY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

**hugs**

beckmoore
09-12-2009, 12:06 AM
naming Papers or ele...
So mine should be

BeckmooreDM~friends.paper1......for example

Huggers
Debbie

Ambowife Designs
09-12-2009, 12:22 AM
Yep you can have
beckmoore_friends_p1
or
beckmooreDM_friends_E1
or
DM_friends_element1

Same thing for folders
BeckmooreDM_friends_P1.zip

etc

Okay I'm not adding this one to the above list, since it's near the top anyway and I may seem to be repeating myself, you'll all think I have a poor memory or something :D

CuddleBeez
09-12-2009, 07:49 AM
Regarding CU items. I want to be sure that I have this correct. When using a CU item, as long as the designer who made the CU product does not put in her TOU that you can not use it for freebies it is ok to do so, correct?

http://i434.photobucket.com/albums/qq67/cuddlebeez/CuddleBeez-Fall-Blinkie.gif (http://cuddlebeezscraps.blogspot.com)

<a href="http://s434.photobucket.com/albums/qq67/cuddlebeez/?action=view&current=next-sassy-lady-blinkie.gif" target="_blank"><img src="http://i434.photobucket.com/albums/qq67/cuddlebeez/next-sassy-lady-blinkie.gif" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>

sparky
09-12-2009, 11:25 AM
I have a question about the elements. If I kreate two frames that are completely different from each other, is that considered two or one element?

Toiny
09-12-2009, 11:52 AM
It is ok to do so, but I normally wouldn't give away an item I bought CU if all I'd done is recolor it. That makes it way too easy for someone to pirate. Granted, you can always call "pirate" on someone & make them show you a receipt... but that's not usually what happens. What happens is someone gets something for free that they can sell.

Sooo I always tweak any CU items before giving it as a freebie. Whether as a cluster element, frame or part of QP.

HTH's!

Toiny

Regarding CU items. I want to be sure that I have this correct. When using a CU item, as long as the designer who made the CU product does not put in her TOU that you can not use it for freebies it is ok to do so, correct?

http://i434.photobucket.com/albums/qq67/cuddlebeez/CuddleBeez-Fall-Blinkie.gif (http://cuddlebeezscraps.blogspot.com)

http://i434.photobucket.com/albums/qq67/cuddlebeez/next-sassy-lady-blinkie.gif (http://s434.photobucket.com/albums/qq67/cuddlebeez/?action=view&current=next-sassy-lady-blinkie.gif)

Toiny
09-12-2009, 11:52 AM
Yep. Just like if you have two flowers, one rose & one carnation, it's two different elements even though you have two flowers.

Smooches,

Toiny

I have a question about the elements. If I kreate two frames that are completely different from each other, is that considered two or one element?

okekeca
09-12-2009, 03:05 PM
Hi there!!!

I am pretty sure i know the answere, but to be sure:
Alpha will count as 1 element???

Mitsybelle
09-12-2009, 03:56 PM
Hi there!!!

I am pretty sure i know the answere, but to be sure:
Alpha will count as 1 element???

Yes, alpha is one element :)

Maurine Stettler
09-12-2009, 04:57 PM
Sorry if this has been answered already -- but I have a quick palette question. If I use a lighter or darker version of a color that is on my palette, do I also have to include those on the palette, or just the "main" color?

Mitsybelle
09-12-2009, 05:38 PM
Sorry if this has been answered already -- but I have a quick palette question. If I use a lighter or darker version of a color that is on my palette, do I also have to include those on the palette, or just the "main" color?

The main color will be good, lighter and darker shades naturally occur when you use overlays and shading etc :)

Ambowife Designs
09-12-2009, 05:46 PM
Updated the top post to this point :)

Maurine Stettler
09-12-2009, 08:19 PM
Is anyone else having a problem getting to 4-shared? I cannot get to 4-shared right now via Firefox or Internet Explorer and want to know if it's just me/my computer, or if it's a bigger problem? Will someone test it and let me know?

Ambowife Designs
09-12-2009, 08:26 PM
It's letting me in Maurine, I am using firefox hope that helps :)

ChristinaP
09-12-2009, 08:26 PM
Is anyone else having a problem getting to 4-shared? I cannot get to 4-shared right now via Firefox or Internet Explorer and want to know if it's just me/my computer, or if it's a bigger problem? Will someone test it and let me know?

Someone posted in DSA they were having trouble. I haven't had any trouble though.

Lizard Dau Designs
09-13-2009, 04:40 AM
yeah i am having trouble accessing 4 shared..cannot even log in..very frustrating...i have this baby and i cannot show it off..boy the labour was long and hard too..and now it is a kinda anti climax..darn it..of well i will keep on trying...cheers liz:D:D:D:D

Mitsybelle
09-13-2009, 05:01 AM
Yeah I'm sure it is VERY annoying because putting your kit out there for 'the world to see' is such a big thing .... just post your preview with a note that you will link it up as soon as 4shared sorts itself out :) hopefully that will be real soon :)

Enchanted
09-13-2009, 08:33 AM
Here's a question..
I was creating elements last night and ended up with a glitter effect via layer properties. do i need to add those colors some how to my palette?

Toiny
09-13-2009, 12:42 PM
I think no, as long as the main color of the glitter is in the palette. At least as how I'm used to seeing glitter w/multiple colors.

T

Here's a question..
I was creating elements last night and ended up with a glitter effect via layer properties. do i need to add those colors some how to my palette?

Amberpony
09-13-2009, 05:30 PM
Is anyone else having a problem getting to 4-shared? I cannot get to 4-shared right now via Firefox or Internet Explorer and want to know if it's just me/my computer, or if it's a bigger problem? Will someone test it and let me know?

I had that problem a couple of times in the late evening I think they are updating. It worked fine 10 minutes later both times

Amberpony
09-13-2009, 05:43 PM
I have an Element Question
Do they all have to be png or can they be a jpeg if they cover the full file?
Saw like a solid paper journal box?

Ambowife Designs
09-13-2009, 05:48 PM
I have an Element Question
Do they all have to be png or can they be a jpeg if they cover the full file?
Saw like a solid paper journal box?

If the element is a journal paper and fills the whole document then yes it can be a jpeg, as long as all your files are either png or jpeg you should be fine :)

Enchanted
09-14-2009, 01:25 PM
Another question..
1 element 3 colors= 1 element right? so if i had 12 elements, but had 2 or 3 colors of that element..that's still 12? or would that be considered more?

I've looked at several finished kits, and seen only a total of 12 elements. Just trying to make sure i get this right. thanks.

Mitsybelle
09-14-2009, 02:21 PM
12 elements only - whether recolored or not - 8 of them are to be unique (different) so if you want to recolor any you only have three left - no more than 12 altogether :)

Ambowife Designs
09-14-2009, 02:36 PM
That's right, Toiny has allowed for recoloring with the 8 Unique rule :)

Top post updated to here

Enchanted
09-14-2009, 02:45 PM
thanks soo much!! :D

sparky
09-14-2009, 03:54 PM
Can I re-do mine then, I was under the impression that if they were the same just recolored then that counts as 1 element. ie: I have 4 glass stones in different colors, I was counting that as 1 element. Now if I had 4 stones, and they were different shapes, then each one would count as an element. That was my impression. I guess I was wrong, uh?:eek:

Mitsybelle
09-14-2009, 04:03 PM
Can I re-do mine then, I was under the impression that if they were the same just recolored then that counts as 1 element. ie: I have 4 glass stones in different colors, I was counting that as 1 element. Now if I had 4 stones, and they were different shapes, then each one would count as an element. That was my impression. I guess I was wrong, uh?:eek:

Just re-do it before the Voting starts :)

Ambowife Designs
09-14-2009, 04:05 PM
Yep the same rule as round one, if it's fixed before the deadline, no harm no foul (to quote Toiny LOL)

sparky
09-14-2009, 05:08 PM
Thank you - I guess I better get to work then.

LauraMarie
09-14-2009, 11:33 PM
Question: I did a QP with my kit and I want to show it off and make it available for others to download. Can I post in the gallery here and put the download link?

Mitsybelle
09-15-2009, 12:31 AM
Question: I did a QP with my kit and I want to show it off and make it available for others to download. Can I post in the gallery here and put the download link?

Definitely, upload it into the Week2 Layout Gallery and also post it in the Members Giveaway thread in the forum :)

LauraMarie
09-15-2009, 10:06 AM
Definitely, upload it into the Week2 Layout Gallery and also post it in the Members Giveaway thread in the forum :)

Great, thanks!

Maurine Stettler
09-15-2009, 10:26 AM
I think I've messed up on mine -- please let me know if I need to go rename everything and reupload. Here's what I did on my naming -- is it acceptable or a disqualification problem?

In my CREDITS, I always list right up front the kit name and the acronym in quotes. Then I use the acronym on the elements and papers. For example, my credits document shows: CREDITS FOR "Circle of Friends" (COF) Kit

Then my elements and papers are named like this:
MS_COF Frame 1 or MS_COF paper 1

Is that OK, or do I need to change to:
a) MS_CircleOfFriends Frame 1 - or -
b) MStettler_CircleOfFriends Frame 1

Yep you can have
beckmoore_friends_p1
or
beckmooreDM_friends_E1
or
DM_friends_element1

Same thing for folders
BeckmooreDM_friends_P1.zip

etc

Okay I'm not adding this one to the above list, since it's near the top anyway and I may seem to be repeating myself, you'll all think I have a poor memory or something :D

Toiny
09-15-2009, 10:51 AM
That is up to you!

You are using standard naming, it's just my preference to use full name & full kit name (easier for me as a scrapper to credit you in my LO's).

But, required for zip file names, highly, highly, highly recommend for all other file names... NO spaces in file names, underscores please. We have trouble with files names that have spaces on our server. So it's a great idea to get in the good habit of naming them properly from the get go.

Smooches,

Toiny

I think I've messed up on mine -- please let me know if I need to go rename everything and reupload. Here's what I did on my naming -- is it acceptable or a disqualification problem?

In my CREDITS, I always list right up front the kit name and the acronym in quotes. Then I use the acronym on the elements and papers. For example, my credits document shows: CREDITS FOR "Circle of Friends" (COF) Kit

Then my elements and papers are named like this:
MS_COF Frame 1 or MS_COF paper 1

Is that OK, or do I need to change to:
a) MS_CircleOfFriends Frame 1 - or -
b) MStettler_CircleOfFriends Frame 1

Maurine Stettler
09-15-2009, 11:01 AM
Thanks for the quick reply. For this round, I'll go ahead and leave everything as is, especially since my zip file name has underscores and no spaces. You make some good points about the naming conventions, so I need to rethink that for any future kits I design as part of this contest if I make it beyond round 2 or kits I post on my blog. Thanks again!

That is up to you!

You are using standard naming, it's just my preference to use full name & full kit name (easier for me as a scrapper to credit you in my LO's).

But, required for zip file names, highly, highly, highly recommend for all other file names... NO spaces in file names, underscores please. We have trouble with files names that have spaces on our server. So it's a great idea to get in the good habit of naming them properly from the get go.

Smooches,

Toiny