Go Back   theStudio > theStudio Creative Canvas > theStudio Tutorials

theStudio Tutorials September 2010: A brandnew forum for tutorials. There will be a weekly new tutorial from theStudio Design Team but you are welcome to post your own.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2010, 08:16 PM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,901
Default Make a Screen Shot

Have you ever had something in progress in your program that you wanted to show someone but didn't know how to make a screen shot of it.

Well here's how to make a screen shot in any windows based platform


To take a shot of the whole screen
,

1. have the item you want to capture on the screen.
2. press the PrtScn/SysRq (Print Screen) key on your keyboard
3. Now the whole screen image has been copied to your clipboard
4. Open a new document in word or your scrapping program
5. Paste the image into the document, and trim any you don't want to show away (like the task bars at the top and bottom for example)

To take a shot of just the active window

This is handy for if you just want a screen shot of something smaller like an error message or pop up

1. have the item you want to capture open on the screen
2. Press Alt and the PrtScrn/SysRq keys together, the computer will take a snapshot of the currently active window ONLY
3. Open a new document and paste it in

now you have an image of what you wanted and you can email it or post it

hope this helps some of you who might have been wondering how to do this

Tracy
__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2010, 03:25 AM
Toiny's Avatar
Toiny Toiny is offline
theStudio Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,746
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

Hihihi I learned something! I didn't know the active-window-only one. Thanks Tracy!

Smooches,

T
__________________
---------------







my email
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2010, 04:34 AM
Aveziur's Avatar
Aveziur Aveziur is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Torrejón de Ardoz - Madrid ( Spain)
Posts: 2,214
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

Thanks Tracy. If you are interested, I use a free software called PrintScreen, that allow you to choose what do you want, it is great to the 100% closer look of the previews just selecting directly from the monitor
__________________

Personal Use Store · Commercial Use Store · Blog · Newsletter · Facebook · Pinterest · Twitter · Google+


2007 - 2014 eqrAveziur graphic & design. All rights reserved.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2010, 06:13 AM
*Dee*'s Avatar
*Dee* *Dee* is offline
theStudio Artist
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 230
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

Tracy thanks!! I didn't know how to do the active window only!! That could really come in handy!
__________________
Dee


My Blog: Dee's Musings

My Twitter

Facebook Fan Page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2010, 08:28 AM
DarlineHM DarlineHM is offline
theStudio Artist
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 129
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

Thanks I didn't know that secon one ..great
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2010, 02:29 PM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,901
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

I have windows 7 so I don't use this method so much anymore, I use the snipping tool which I love, cause you can draw on it with a highlighter before sending it off to someone, handy for pointing something out. I think Maybe Vista has something like this too.
__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2010, 02:47 PM
*Dee*'s Avatar
*Dee* *Dee* is offline
theStudio Artist
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MS
Posts: 230
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambowife Designs View Post
I have windows 7 so I don't use this method so much anymore, I use the snipping tool which I love, cause you can draw on it with a highlighter before sending it off to someone, handy for pointing something out. I think Maybe Vista has something like this too.
Really....Vista....how would I find out???
__________________
Dee


My Blog: Dee's Musings

My Twitter

Facebook Fan Page
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:31 AM
bcalberti's Avatar
bcalberti bcalberti is offline
theStudio CT
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,599
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

Tracy - thank you for doing this for me!!! you're the greatest. I can't wait to go try it out.
__________________
Barb

http://atimeforscraps.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2010, 07:40 PM
Berny's Avatar
Berny Berny is offline
theStudio Warhol
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wild Wonderful West Virginia
Posts: 737
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

Thanks, I needed to do the 2nd one and wasn't sure how. Thanks so much.
__________________
Berny
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2011, 04:48 AM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,901
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

You're welcome ladies
__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-02-2011, 01:40 PM
Barbwire's Avatar
Barbwire Barbwire is offline
theStudio QC CT
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 937
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

I never knew you could paste it into something other than a Word document, so never could crop the results. AND I didn't know how to capture just the active window. Thank you sooo much. And who says you can't teach old dogs new tricks??? This old dog just learned a new trick. LOL
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-04-2011, 03:03 AM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,901
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

hee hee you're welcome hun
__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-04-2011, 05:46 AM
Renee's Avatar
Renee Renee is offline
theStudio CT
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 7,108
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambowife Designs View Post
I have windows 7 so I don't use this method so much anymore, I use the snipping tool which I love, cause you can draw on it with a highlighter before sending it off to someone, handy for pointing something out. I think Maybe Vista has something like this too.
What's the snipping tool?
__________________



Creative for
The Studio, Ambowife Designs, BooLand Designs, Lara's Digiworld, Sarah Barber Designs, Feli Designs, Berna Datema, Joelle Designs, Cryztal Rain, Crowabout StudioB, Marta van Eck, Aneczka Designs,Studio Manu, Misker Whiskers


I'm proud to be a
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-04-2011, 04:52 PM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,901
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

IN Windows 7 Jeanette, here's a shot, you should enter snipping tool in the search box at the bottom and it will come up in the list



hope that helps
__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-23-2011, 06:17 PM
Twin Mom Scraps's Avatar
Twin Mom Scraps Twin Mom Scraps is offline
theStudio Warhol
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 762
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

ditto on the snipping tool...vista and windows 7 have it i believe. it is soooo nice. i use it all the time! this is a great tut though tracy...for years i never knew how to take a screen shot!!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:01 AM
kimberkatt's Avatar
kimberkatt kimberkatt is offline
theStudio Party Girl
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 10,132
Default Re: Make a Screen Shot

Snipping tool, eh?! I have Win7 and didn't even know it was there! Thanks so much Tracy!!

And, OMG - I just went & used it and it is FANTASTIC!!! Watch out, I may be posting screen shots all over the place now!! LOL!
__________________
Kimberly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.