Go Back   theStudio > theStudio Creative Canvas > theStudio Tutorials

theStudio Tutorials September 2010: A brandnew forum for tutorials. There will be a weekly new tutorial from theStudio Design Team but you are welcome to post your own.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2014, 03:31 PM
jilbert's Avatar
jilbert jilbert is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Livermore, California -- home of the famous light bulb
Posts: 4,100
Default Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

When creating a cluster as either part of a kit or a freebie advertising a kit, one typically has 2 versions ... one with shadows
and on with outer shadows removed. While this can be done using layer masks in PSCS, PSE doesn't have layer masks.
Turns out, there's a trick you can use to create them and I'll show you how using PSE6.

I started out with 3 flowers and put a VERY obvious drop shadow on them.


Over in my layers palette I select my Background layer then on the Adjustment Layer Icon (the circle that's half
white and half gray) and select Levels (you can actually pick just about any of them but the Levels adjustment
is typically the safest). The reason I started by selecting my Background layer is because I want the adjustment
layer to be below my cluster.


I then select each of my flowers by holding down SHIFT + OPT/ALT and clicking on the layer thumbnails. I then invert
the selection by typing SHIFT + CMD/CTL I.


I make sure that my Levels "Mask" is selected and I fill the background with black using my Bucket Tool or, even easier, just
hit the Delete key.


I now "clip" my layers with the flowers to my Adjustment layer (OPT/ALT and click between two layers).


AND, if you've done everything correctly, you should have no shadows outside the perimeter of your cluster, but they'll still remain inside it's boundry.
__________________

Last edited by jilbert; 04-30-2014 at 06:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2014, 04:10 PM
nightshadow's Avatar
nightshadow nightshadow is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 2,162
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

Thank you Jill. Wonder if this would work in PSE 5? I'm going to try it...after all, I managed to get clipping masks to work in that version.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2014, 04:17 PM
jilbert's Avatar
jilbert jilbert is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Livermore, California -- home of the famous light bulb
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

That would be good to know ... Thanks!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightshadow View Post
Thank you Jill. Wonder if this would work in PSE 5? I'm going to try it...after all, I managed to get clipping masks to work in that version.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2014, 04:20 PM
nightshadow's Avatar
nightshadow nightshadow is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 2,162
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

Quote:
Originally Posted by jilbert View Post
That would be good to know ... Thanks!!!
If it works, I'll repost.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2014, 04:24 PM
6grand's Avatar
6grand 6grand is offline
theStudio Picasso
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,447
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

Wow Jill thank you so much for this tutorial. I always wondered how to do that because most times I just don't want those outer shadows falling on the b/g or another element.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2014, 06:29 PM
mootscrapper's Avatar
mootscrapper mootscrapper is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,281
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

when I press control i i GET NO MARCHING ANTS
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2014, 06:38 PM
jilbert's Avatar
jilbert jilbert is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Livermore, California -- home of the famous light bulb
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

YIKES!!! I messed that one up ... CMD/CTL I will invert your layer/canvas color ... you need to do SHIFT + CMD/CTL I to invert your selection ... I'll go fixed things in to tutorial.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mootscrapper View Post
when I press control i i GET NO MARCHING ANTS
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2014, 06:45 PM
mootscrapper's Avatar
mootscrapper mootscrapper is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,281
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

no it still doesnt do it
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-30-2014, 06:50 PM
jilbert's Avatar
jilbert jilbert is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Livermore, California -- home of the famous light bulb
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

OK ... go up to the Select Menu and pick Inverse ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mootscrapper View Post
no it still doesnt do it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-30-2014, 06:59 PM
mootscrapper's Avatar
mootscrapper mootscrapper is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,281
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

....I am such a problem child

My select inverse option is unselectable, it isn't highlighted, reselect is but not inverse
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:05 PM
jilbert's Avatar
jilbert jilbert is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Livermore, California -- home of the famous light bulb
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

ok, my problem child ... do you actually have something selected? Try just using the select tool and seeing if you can invert it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mootscrapper View Post
....I am such a problem child

My select inverse option is unselectable, it isn't highlighted, reselect is but not inverse
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:08 PM
mootscrapper's Avatar
mootscrapper mootscrapper is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,281
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

lol yes I have something selected!

I can put the rectangle tool around one objuct and press invert, but not sure what to do next, it doesnt have the marching ants around the actual object, it's just a square
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:15 PM
jilbert's Avatar
jilbert jilbert is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Livermore, California -- home of the famous light bulb
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

with the first layer, try just doing a CMD/CTL while you click on the layer thumbnail. If that selects the item, with the next layer do the same thing only hold down the SHIFT key along with CMD/CTL when you click on the layer thumbnail. Items on both layers should be selected.

If it works for the first select, but not the second, there's a long way to do it. Select the first item (CMD/CTL click on the thumbnail, then under Select, pick Save Selection and give it a name. Do this for every layer (told you this was the long way). Then with one of the items selected, go back up into the Select menu and select load selection, check the box that says "Add to selection" and keep doing this until you've selected all the things you've saved.

HOWEVER, I think I know what you've done ... You're selecting your items buy clicking on it in the window ... you need to load that item by clicking on the thumbnail in your layer palette. If you've selected it correctly, you'll see marching ants around the parameter of the object ... not just the selection box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mootscrapper View Post
lol yes I have something selected!

I can put the rectangle tool around one objuct and press invert, but not sure what to do next, it doesnt have the marching ants around the actual object, it's just a square
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:25 PM
mootscrapper's Avatar
mootscrapper mootscrapper is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,281
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

oooooooh I see ants....hold on lets see now!!!!
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:29 PM
jilbert's Avatar
jilbert jilbert is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Livermore, California -- home of the famous light bulb
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

Hopefully, the ants are the PSE marching kind ... jk

Quote:
Originally Posted by mootscrapper View Post
oooooooh I see ants....hold on lets see now!!!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:38 PM
mootscrapper's Avatar
mootscrapper mootscrapper is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,281
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

So I was able to select everything 1 by 1. I was able to select inverse, but when i clicked alt and in between every item in the layer palette I actually lost the embie and not the shadow...
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:40 PM
mootscrapper's Avatar
mootscrapper mootscrapper is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,281
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

oh wait i didn't fill something with black!
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:50 PM
mootscrapper's Avatar
mootscrapper mootscrapper is offline
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 2,281
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

Ok so I am up to clipping stage and I seem to clip the flower or embie away rather than the shadow. so my steps are
select everything all ok
select inverse all ok
make levels things black, all ok
use alt and click between layers in thumbs, not ok, my embie disappears
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:52 PM
jilbert's Avatar
jilbert jilbert is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Livermore, California -- home of the famous light bulb
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

the mask? or you can just do a delete, but do it on the mask ... and if only the shadows remain, select the mask and do CMD/CTL I and it will invert.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mootscrapper View Post
oh wait i didn't fill something with black!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:53 PM
jilbert's Avatar
jilbert jilbert is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Livermore, California -- home of the famous light bulb
Posts: 4,100
Default Re: Removing Outer Shadows in PSE

oops ... hadn't seen your post ... click on the adjustment layer mask and do a CMD/CTL I to invert it ...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.