Go Back   theStudio > Just for FUN! > General Chatter

General Chatter If you have something to say this would be the place to do it. Post anything you want here and if I get enough of a certain subject I will set up a forum for it, Thanks, Toiny

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2011, 07:41 PM
joy.inscrapping joy.inscrapping is offline
theStudio QC CT
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 174
Question how do you recolor overlays?

or better yet, how do you use them?

i checked the tutorial and found how to blend them into the papers. but i can't find any that says how to change them from black and white to colored.

please help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2011, 07:59 PM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,906
Default Re: how do you recolor overlays?

I use photoshop and when I want an overlay a different color to the original I will if the overlay is a png file with transparent areas, clip a color layer to the overlay layer using my alt button.
or if the overlay is a jpg I will put a color layer below the overlay and then change the blend mode of the overlay layer to soft light or overlay or even Luminosity. I might even use several duplicate layers of the overlay to build it up gradually. then I might merge the layers to create a new overlay if I am going to use that color overlay version a lot.


Hope that helps some Joy
__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2011, 10:15 AM
Scrappy Diva's Avatar
Scrappy Diva Scrappy Diva is offline
theStudio Scribbler
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: how do you recolor overlays?

Thanks for the tutorial. Tracy!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2011, 08:31 AM
Twin Mom Scraps's Avatar
Twin Mom Scraps Twin Mom Scraps is offline
theStudio Warhol
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 762
Default Re: how do you recolor overlays?

i am using PSP X2 and i use the manual color correction tool...I LOVE IT! i can get colors exactly, without the torturous use of a color wheel
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2011, 08:14 PM
danzinst's Avatar
danzinst danzinst is online now
theStudio Monet
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest Virginia
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: how do you recolor overlays?

Thanks Tracy,I love to learn new things.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.