Go Back   theStudio > Just for FUN! > General Chatter

General Chatter If you have something to say this would be the place to do it. Post anything you want here and if I get enough of a certain subject I will set up a forum for it, Thanks, Toiny

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2011, 09:17 AM
Heatheranne's Avatar
Heatheranne Heatheranne is offline
theStudio Artist
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

I hope that one of you can help me out, please. I have been running the CS5 trial program. It has been a unique experience, with an uphill curve! lol I've stumbled on one thing that I can't figure out and am not sure how to handle it. When I go to save a png file, there is no png option. In fact, there are only a few options to use; psd, jpeg (2 types), tiff and a couple of others that I'm not familiar with.

My question: How do I save png files in a program that doesn't have png as a "save as" option?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2011, 03:28 PM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,870
Default Re: Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

hmm that is really strange Heatheranne, my photoshop cs5 has heaps of save options, see below, and png is there

__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2011, 03:30 PM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,870
Default Re: Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

oh ps, make sure you are doing save as and not "save for web and devices" the options are limited in that one.
__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2011, 04:04 PM
Toiny's Avatar
Toiny Toiny is offline
theStudio Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,706
Default Re: Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

It might be your "mode" try switching to 8-bit then doing the "save as" command.
__________________
---------------







my email
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2011, 04:58 PM
Heatheranne's Avatar
Heatheranne Heatheranne is offline
theStudio Artist
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Re: Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

Tracy, my list in PSE9 is like that and I thought it was in CS5, but it seems to have changed since I registered it. I don't know if it was that or the dog, knocking my computer on the floor, but things aren't right.

I ended up using save for web, because it has a png option, but I don't know if the quality is as good as save as.

Where to I find the mode setting? I've looked and am missing it somehow. Perhaps starting a new program wasn't the best right now, but I'm almost there. It's just this png save thing that's giving me so much trouble right now. I do appreciate your help. :-)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2011, 05:27 PM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,870
Default Re: Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

hmm try opening a different png file, one that was created before your cs5 and make a duplicate of it then see if you can see png when you choose save as for that file. I'm clutching at straws maybe but it's worth a try, it might narrow down the problem!

this is where image mode is
__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2011, 05:52 PM
Heatheranne's Avatar
Heatheranne Heatheranne is offline
theStudio Artist
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Re: Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

Thanks Tracy! All I had to do was see that image that you're showing. (I'd love to know how you did that. I tried to snip a photo of my dropdown when it was open and it kept closing, before I could snip it.)

I looked under image several times and reset everything in preferences just in case. All I had to do was see your image and there's mode, right at the top. Mine was on 16 bit and CMYK color - don't ask! I don't know why! lol

Thank you so much! I've change my settings! Now I can check my psds to see if they look okay and resave everything. Hopefully, I can get finished before the deadline! :-)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2011, 06:17 PM
Ambowife Designs's Avatar
Ambowife Designs Ambowife Designs is offline
theStudio Designer
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Temora, Country NSW, Australia
Posts: 16,870
Default Re: Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

I can't snip it that way either, the dropdown will close for me too.
To do a screen shot like that just get what you want on the screen then hit print screen button on your keyboard. this puts whatever is on the screen onto your clipboard, now just create a new image from clipboard and paste it in, crop to desired area and save.

it's an invaluable tool LOL
__________________


~~ Tracy ~~
Studio Designer~Creative Team and QC Liason


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-04-2011, 07:16 PM
Heatheranne's Avatar
Heatheranne Heatheranne is offline
theStudio Artist
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Re: Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

lol That is just so cool! Thank you for the information - I don't even need the snip tool with this arrangement! :-)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-04-2011, 07:57 PM
msbrad's Avatar
msbrad msbrad is offline
theStudio QC CT
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 799
Default Re: Help! CS5 "Save as" options missing!

don't fret... sometimes it gets quirkey [hoping that is a real word...].
Save it as 'whatever' and then....click a different layer and save again. That often works. Then go locate the culprit and delete its bad self.
m
ps - if still trouble, let me know and I can assist further.
__________________



pse-3,4,5,6, 8 , 9, 10....CS5...and PSP x3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.